Houzz Logo Print
stephanie_bergamaschi

Should we paint the cedar walls ?And the brickwork ?

The window frames are mission brown and I'd like to paint them black ? Or should I paint them white ?

Comments (48)

• Neetie
    9 years ago
    I love love love the cedar walls and would never paint them - I would change to a lighter tile on the floor because the overall impression is a bit dark. I would also paint the window frames that dark shade you like and match it on the cross beams on the ceiling.
    Just my opinion I am no expert!
  • ladyrob1
    9 years ago
    I have a little old cottage with natural timber hoop pine walls ceilings and floors...its a bit dark but I'd NEVER paint it.
    The brickwork - consider cladding it with a natural light coloured stone. I had a dark brick fireplace that made the environment even darker so cladded it with ribbonstone right up to the ceiling. PIC below just as an example...the empty fireplace has a log heater in it like yours..There would be other stone veneers you could source. I'd agree with a lighter tile on the floor but maybe with a strong all-over pattern and maybe accents of whatever colour you use in the carpet. I find that RED carpet works really well in a "woody" environment...is that a sunken lounge area?...Would look lovely in ruby red..but if you don;t like red try a dark teal and have accents of pale orangey-yellow for cishions or curtains if you use them. PIC also of my wooden environment just as example.
  • Related Discussions

Should we remove wall to create a Bedroom balcony??

Q

Comments (6)