Houzz Logo Print
elinitha_au

New build - here goes. Kitchen help first up

elinitha_au
9 years ago
Let me put it out there. I work in IT and have zero creative bones in my body. I generally know what i like when i see it, but am really crap at putting things together.
So.. here i am.
We are at the stage of needing to lock in kitchen designs and colours.

So to start with in terms of scale - the kitchen island is 3m, the wall behind the island is approx 4m. the side wall has a glass window splashback to help with lighting.

I was thinking
Kitchen island : Double sink in the middle, dishwasher, full size bin and a bank of draws

Back wall : Fridge (French door style) on the right, the cook top in the middle, and wall mounted double ovens on the left hand side. three banks of draws under the cook top

Side wall is where i need help. ndo i have half height over head cupboards? no cupboards? shelves? do i have one full length cupcoard that i can also use a small appliance cupboard for tea coffee etc?

Any help with design would be GREATLY appreciated. Once i nut that out, ide love some idea with colour and where to put what. im thinking all white might be a bit too in your face, maybe add a bit of warmth? we are planing to have original colour polished concrete (black aggrigate)

what do you think?

Comments (27)

• elinitha_au
    Original Author
    9 years ago
    oh and ignore the size of the table - not sure why the draftman thought we would buy a 4.5 metre table from :)
  • elinitha_au
    Original Author
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago
    Did i scare people off with how much i typed ? :)
  • Related Discussions

New Build Kitchen Advice/Feedback

Q

Comments (2)
    @stonesarahj, I agree with the first post but also think the darker colour could look fantastic and tie in real well with your bathroom. I wouldn't be too judgmental about smudges on a darker colour, if you think you'll like it more then go with that. Cheers, Barbara
    ...See More