Houzz Logo Print
gioenne_rapisarda

Should I rent or buy? Help!

I'm in my early 20s at a point where moving out of home is on the cards within the next 2-3 years. I have been working and saving for a few years now and I'm trying to work out what would be the best approach to this next big stage of my life.

I could continue saving at the same rate I am now and possibly have enough to apply for a small mortgage by the end of next year. I wouldn't be living in the property straight away if I were to buy, I'd be using it as an investment. I've spoken to many people who agree that if you can, buying earlier is more beneficial than renting as you're not wasting your money paying someone else's mortgage.

Alternatively, a lot of people I know with investment properties have told me horror stories of forking out stacks of cash at inopportune times to fix problems that arose for their tenants. It's definitely a massive financial responsibility, which makes me think that renting may not be such a bad idea initially.

I'm interested to hear everyone's thoughts on the matter - what worked well for you, your experiences or advice. Any input is appreciated!

Comments (38)

• Marj Kibby
    8 years ago

People making that argument always ignore the money "wasted" paying interest on your mortgage. Take the time to build a significant deposit, and to do your research on where, and what, to buy to make the most of your investment.

• LouieT
    8 years ago

If I was 20 again I would buy somewhere I holidayed at back then and rent or stay at my folks place to save. Then I could use my place on weekends or have time out there.

Even buying just a block of land would have given me the motivation to save for something that one day could be built on.

fern house in summer · More Info

• Related Discussions

1980`s house, should I keep verandahs or convert it onto living area?

Q

Comments (42)