Houzz Logo Print
isabella_lesslie

Where to start?

I Lesslie
7 years ago
last modified: 7 years ago

Built in the 70s, never been renovated. We are complete newbies and wondering where to start with renovations/possible extension to add a fourth bedroom. Any kind souls got ideas?

Comments (32)

• I Lesslie
    Original Author
    7 years ago

Thank you! We don't need it urgently, but we thought if we are going to do major renovations then we should look at extending at the same time? The fourth bedroom would be to add value to the house, and be an office space. My partner and I have two young kids and both work from home, which can be tricky. These photos are from when we bought it, two years ago, and we have completely re-done the garden and taken down the lace curtains. That's it! We spend a lot of time at home, and we just want to be comfortable. It is a very dark house, and the cedar-lined ceilings feel a little claustrophobic.

• Related Discussions

Where to Start Your Search for a Good Builder

Q

Comments (2)
    Good advice, but it is also important to match the builder to the size of the job, and choose one that is experienced in the type of work you need. Don't choose a builder who builds new homes to do your extension, as the skill sets are quite different when working with an existing building. Don't choose a builder who only works in the $800,000+ extension area to work on your $150,000 renovation. If you are living in your home during the renovation choose your builder like you would choose a flatmate, and one that will respect your family's privacy. I had one client whose young daughter learnt some colourful language from their builders while they were working on their extension! Dr Retro of Dr Retro House Calls
    ...See More

Where to start?!

Q

Comments (13)